Barrio Boyzz Band Members
Latin Pop

Barrio Boyzz

A talented quintet of artists from the “barrios” of New York City, the group was formed in 1991 and includes: Hans Giraldo, David Daville, Jimmy Sanchez, Robert McLeod and Jeffrey Ayala.

The group was assembled by Joe Jacket, whose vision was to create a Latino band that could find equal success in the mainstream of music in the United States. This meant that the band had to be versatile in terms of music styles as well as bilingual in English and Spanish.

Having found the right members, with talent influenced by R&B, soul and hip-hop music, Jacket guided them to their debut album, Crazy Coolin’ in 1992. Jacket’s formula proved to be right. The album demonstrated the band’s ability, versatility, smooth sounds with streetwise harmonies, and clean cut image.

Following their debut, the Boyzz released a sucession of hit recordings over the next few years, including: Donde Quiera Que Estes (1993), Una Vez Mas (1995), Navidad, Tu Y Yo (1995) and How We Roll (1995).

The Boyzz success continued with Ven a Mi in 1997, Destiny (2000) and Destino, the following year. Their unique style, combining Latin flavor with R & B, pop, rap and even gospel styles, such as the hit song, No Me Dejes, earned the band two top hits on the “Billboard” Latin chart and two platinum Spanish-language albums.

Leave a Reply